I was going to call this new regular segment ‘Thrifty Fridays’ but it sounded too much like a nasty marketing pitch, so ‘Thrift Store Fridays’ was born.

I realise that my Brit readers will likely ask “what is a thrift store?”…and for those lovely souls – just replace the word with charity and all will become clear.

For the last few months, I have been taking Fridays off and they have become my own special day to hit the secondhand shops and hunt for vintage treasure before everyone swoops in on Saturday mornings.

As I have regular requests from lovely friends to divulge my finds for the week, I figured it would be fun to post them as a regular weekly segment.

So here is last Friday’s score, with additions from the Battersea Car Boot Sale on Sunday.

My most cherished find, and the big ticket item at £15, is the white Uta Feyl for Rosenthal vase in the middle. I actually managed a decent barter on that item and am quite pleased with myself. (These are going for about £65 online!)

The vintage tennis racquet will be joining another antique racquet I have on an upcoming trip to the glaziers to get mirror cut for them and will become wall mirrors, like the ones below from Country Living magazine.

image via Country Living

The extremely odd and admittedly gnomey weiner dog will get a coat of matte white spray paint to emulate the Jonathan Adler dachshund.

image via Jonathan Adler

I also got a slightly angled barrel lampshade that I have been seeking for months now for a teak lamp I picked up with the wrong shaped shade (Tulip shaped? With mid-century modern? What were they thinking?!), but I have not included it in the shot, as it is in the DIY lab getting a transformation. I will be posting it soon, with one of my beloved ‘before and afters’.

All in all, a fairly successful haul considering that most items were under £4, no?

Happy hunting all. Have a good weekend.

