As some of you already know, I grew up in the middle of acres of forest, next to a highly conspicuous A-frame house that my childhood ‘best friend’ lived in.

Her family was Australian, and though – like many of the immigrants in our neighbourhood (my parents included) – they must have had some idyllic notion of living in the wild Canadian wilderness which brought them to that desolate little town,  they still managed to bring a hip, modern sensibility to the architecture they chose for their house!

Fabulous…if somewhat impractical. Looking back at that angled wonder with adult practicality, an A-frame in -40+ degrees celsius wouldn’t have been the most energy-efficient shape! But then, it was so fun to slide down in the snow! Worth the heating bills?

I still get a little nostalgic when I see sharply vaulted, wood clad interiors.

