Some time ago I posted on mirrors with rounded edges and planned to follow it up with a post on totally round ones….then got sidetracked and it sat in my drafts folder for months.

I revisited it today and found that I wasn’t really interested in round mirrors in general anymore (awwwrk, shiney! Attention span of a gnat.) but am more interested in where the round mirror mania that has been going on for a few months now comes from.

The original post was kicked off by this Captain’s Mirror by BDDW that everyone, including myself, has been panting over for ages now:

I discovered that the mirror references a series of leather mirrors designed by Jacques Adnet in the 50s for Hermes. The original Adnet mirrors currently sell for over $2000 at stores like Orange on 1stDibs.

From Danish design site Gubi, who has just re-released some of Adnet’s mirrors:

‘Jacques Adnet (1900 – 1984) was a French architect and Art Deco Modernist designer and an icon of luxurious French Modernism…In 1950, Adnet formed a partnership with the French fashion house, Hermes, where he developed a collection of leather-covered furniture and interior accessories. Accordingly, he made a round leather mirror with brass hinges. Besides the remarkable leather and brass details, the mirror is also unique as the strap that holds the mirror is in direct proportion to the dimension of the mirror.’

He also made this design with silk cord:

Check out the gorgeous brass findings.

1st Dibs

Here is a rather different rectangular one which feels even more like it should be hanging in a stable to me:


V&M

While there are a dozen knock-offs kicking about at the moment, I really loved this DIY of the mirror by a Design Sponge reader, Lucy,who manages to knock up a similar version by hand:

Amazing job on detailing and craftsmanship! Well done Lucy!

See the step by step here. I am sorely tempted to add this to my gargantuan project list, but can hear Bubby’s voice in my head commenting on how many mirrors we already have in the house from a few months back.

But really, can you ever have too many mirrors?

