So the big reveal on the pillows!

I am positive I have mentioned my love of Ikea’s Saralisa fabric in a past post, but let me say it again….I love the Japanese-kimono, fish-scale-like-pattern (say that all in one breath) in this print:

LOVE IT.

I used the fabric a few years ago for some bedroom blackout curtains – below in the old flat with the much hated Ikea bed that came with the flat (the sharpest corners in the world. If you love your shins avoid this cheap hunk!) – and still love them today.

I kept telling myself the pattern was too graphic and distinctive to re-use…but then broke down on the pillow front!

So here they are, my new Saralisa cushions.

I decided I didn’t want them matching, as for some reason matching pillows make me slightly retch at the moment.  I also decided they should have zips. Don’t ask me why, though I guess it was because I was telling myself that it would make them more reversible – I put a black and white stripe fabric on the back.

As a result, they took me most of an afternoon as I struggled to figure out how a zip could be hidden in the seam.

Here are a couple of detail shots of the process – minus the endless unpicking! (well, ok, it wasn’t as bad as some other projects, but it did take me a while to sort out.)

Did you see that? I even hand-basted!!! Out of necessity, but STILL!

I think they turned out fairly well, and the zip is fairly concealed. I am well pleased.

( The more observant of you might notice that I snuck a shot of my beloved Glerups in there!)


Sweet Saralisa. I love you.

