I really should stop dropping into The Republic of Fritz Hansen every time I am the Oxford Circus area! I usually go in to gloat at the vintage knickknacks they are selling for a bomb which I already own and scored for cheap. ( Yes. I am sad. 😉 )

However, every time I go in there I also find they have brought something new and beautiful in shop for me to covet…

…like these Festivo candlesticks I snapped below last week by Timo Sarpaneva for Iittala.

I have seen these a million times in images, as they have been around since 1966, but seeing their solid chunkiness shimmering in real light made all the difference.

I want them now. In multiples. Many mulitples. Like below…

via

What a greedly gorgeous grouping. Even without candles they are stunning. Sigh.

As happens, I am now noticing them everywhere:


via

Here is the old school label:

via

Check out those great candles!

I am thinking this year is the perfect year to start collecting, as not only do I have a milestone birthday coming up (!), but have a dear friend crossing for a visit via…wait for it…FINLAND! How perfect is the timing? I know for a fact she will be visiting the Iittala factory, so may put in a request before she goes.

Also putting it out there to any of you, nearer the time (several months yet!), who may be struggling to find a gift (I know I am a right royal pain in the arse to shop for, so since my early twenties have tried to make it easier. I know no shame.).

One of these, any size will do. For the next 3 years. Heh. No, seriously!

I really like the idea of getting these from my nearest and dearest and being able to think back to this birthday every time I see them.

Puuuuhlease?

